This site is a testing version, but all data is shared with the live forum.


Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10


Post New Thread Closed Thread   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Eccentric Warmonger
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:04   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1631

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
Use the MM:S release or 1.8 snapshots, NOT the 1.9 snapshots.
May I ask why? I have always used the developers snapshots and never had any issues.
Eccentric Warmonger is offline
sinblaster
Grim Reaper
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:05   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1632

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eccentric Warmonger View Post
Derrrr...what is reeding?
"Reading" is something that is recommended you do before you post questions in a thread that an error has noting to do with.

So your server is still crashing. it still has nothing to do with SDKHOOKS Try reading through the last couple of pages of this thread and see what you come up with. there is allot of input in there

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eccentric Warmonger View Post
May I ask why?
because you want your server to work?
__________________
Happy Happy Joy Joy

sinblaster is offline
Eccentric Warmonger
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:10   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1633

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinblaster View Post
"Reading" is something that is recommended you do before you post questions in a thread that an error has noting to do with.

So your server is still crashing. it still has nothing to do with SDKHOOKS Try reading through the last couple of pages of this thread and see what you come up with. there is allot of input in there



because you want your server to work?
Dude don't be an asshole. I am simply asking. I have always used developers builds (since they usually are more up to date than official release builds) and have never had any issues. So I am just asking why all of a sudden I should switch.
Eccentric Warmonger is offline
Mister_Magotchi
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:15   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1634

Regarding the MM:S dev. snapshots, I had the same problem initially when I tried them this time, although I usually use them without a problem. They're apparently just having issues right now.

Also, I believe people are being snarky with you because you have an attitude like something is owed to you by the developers of this free software. The sarcasm, when you indeed are the one that isn't reading things as much as you should be, also doesn't help.

Last edited by Mister_Magotchi; 10-14-2011 at 19:21.
Mister_Magotchi is offline
sinblaster
Grim Reaper
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:20   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1635

I'm not being an asshole warmonger, it would just stand to reason that if a developer recommends you use one version over another, it would stand to reason that one isn't performing as it should and the other is.
__________________
Happy Happy Joy Joy

sinblaster is offline
Mister_Magotchi
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Old 10-14-2011 , 19:33   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1636

Also, the developer snapshots, and snapshots in general to a degree, always have a "use at your own risk" status about them. They're not necessarily meant for a production server, although they're often suitable for that purpose anyway with some projects. Often they work better than the stable releases, but sometimes they don't work as well or at all. It's the nature of software development.
Mister_Magotchi is offline
nikooo777
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lugano, Switzerland
Old 10-15-2011 , 19:58   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1637

hello i have a question, i don't understand why my plugin isn't working.
it should reduce the damage of every weapon with a ratio of 10 (damage/10). but it seems to work toatally randomly... here is the code:
Code:
public OnClientPutInServer(client)
{
    SDKHook(client, SDKHook_OnTakeDamage, OnTakeDamage);
}

public Action:OnTakeDamage(victim, &attacker, &inflictor, &Float:damage, &damagetype)
{
 
	PrintToChatAll("first damage: %f",damage);
	damage =(damage/10);
	PrintToChatAll("second damage: %f",damage);
	return Plugin_Changed;
}
and here is the example of the output:

Quote:
first damage: 99.322128
second damage: 9.932212
but the actual damage was: 5

any clue why and how to fix?
__________________
nikooo777 is offline
thetwistedpanda
Good Little Panda
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old 10-15-2011 , 21:10   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1638

I'm guessing this is for CS:S based on your signature, but the hitgroup factors and armor are applied after OnTakeDamage. I.e. a headshot with that could will still receive a rough ~4.0x multiplier, or whatever the actual value is, after OnTakeDamage fires. TraceAttack should work, but I didn't test it when finding the same issue.
__________________
thetwistedpanda is offline
nikooo777
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lugano, Switzerland
Old 10-16-2011 , 07:58   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1639

well actually using TraceAttack i get a very low damage. I.e. an headshot is originally 30 instead of 100+ without modifying anything. i wonder what is this damage exactly..

thanks for help though.
__________________
nikooo777 is offline
TnTSCS
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Undisclosed...
Old 10-16-2011 , 12:40   Re: SDK Hooks 2.1 - Updated 2011-9-10
#1640

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikooo777 View Post
well actually using TraceAttack i get a very low damage. I.e. an headshot is originally 30 instead of 100+ without modifying anything. i wonder what is this damage exactly..

thanks for help though.
twisted panda said already, I thought... HS damage is multiplied by 3-4x... so, TraceAttack shows the damage pre-mulitply if HS

so, if headshot, leave dmg amount alone or change to 1/2 or something... if it was supposed to be 120 but it shows 30 (prior to multiply) then set 30 * .5 = 15... around what you would have normally done it had you done 120/10 - right?
TnTSCS is offline
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode