This site is a testing version, but all data is shared with the live forum.


Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Drek
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 01-05-2007 , 11:24   How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #1

I know this is possible, because this is what Stripper2 does, however, I don't know if it is possible with AMXX, I'm guessing that with FakeMeta, it might be. Does anyone have any idea how you could do this? A code example would be greatly appreciated.
Drek is offline
stupok
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Old 01-08-2007 , 22:49   Re: How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #2

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthr...light=stripper

I'm sure you can find a lot of useful code in this plugin.
stupok is offline
Drek
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 01-09-2007 , 07:57   Re: How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #3

Ya, I've already been looking at that. Thanks.
Drek is offline
cybermind
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Old 01-10-2007 , 03:29   Re: How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drek View Post
I know this is possible, because this is what Stripper2 does
Well, Stripper2 does it during the loading process so it's not really the sameas dong it during the middle of a map.
cybermind is offline
dutchmeat
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Old 01-10-2007 , 09:20   Re: How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #5

Can't you just use find_ent_by_model ?
Code:
new ent = find_ent_by_model(-1,"classname_to_find","model_to_find") remove_entity(ent)
__________________
before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. that way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.
dutchmeat is offline
Bad_Bud
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The internet
Old 01-10-2007 , 16:19   Re: How do I replace map entities without requiring a map reload?
Reply With Quote #6

Unless a ton of ents use that model...

Try looking at the entlist in the .bsp file, locate the # of the ent you want to remove, and then use remove_entity.

If you don't know what the entlist is, just try opening a .bsp file in wordpad. You'll get a dumpload of jibborish, but if you scroll down about halfway through the crap, you'll run into a list of entities. Just remember, don't save it after you've opened it; just copy what you need.
Bad_Bud is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode